Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In ICE's HARP System: After level-up I bought skills, stats etc and had one DP left over. Can I carry it over to the next level up? Alternatively, is there something that can be gained with one point?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

DPs Must Be Spent When Earned

On page 17 of the rulebook:

All Development Points must be spent when they are gained; any unspent Development Points are lost. Many talents and options may be purchased across multiple character levels, meaning a character may begin to pay for a Talent at one level, and then meet the remaining cost on the subsequent level or levels later on in their adventuring career.

So, you must spend your 1 leftover point at the time you gained your new level, however you can allot that point towards the next skill or talent you'll wish to buy at your next level up, which will make that purchase cost 1 DP less at that time.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.