Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I'm a War Cleric, and I cast Divine Favor on myself and I use two light weapons and they both hit, do I add the extra damage twice since both weapons hit, or just once since both weapons are part of one attack?

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Both

Divine favor adds to all weapon damage rolls; every successful hit with a weapon gets the bonus damage.

share|improve this answer
    
It's not all damage rolls, it's every hit. i.e. if you multi-class as a rogue, you don't do W+1d8 + Sneak Attack + 1d8. –  GMNoob May 4 at 9:34
    
@GMNoob Sneak Attack is bonus damage, i.e. your damage roll (singular) includes it. It is not a separate damage roll itself. –  KRyan May 4 at 13:39

Absolutely.

You gain a +1 bonus to attack rolls and damage rolls until your concentration is broken, but for no longer than 1 minute.

That's a bonus to your damage rolls, just like increasing your strength gives you a bonus to damage rolls. It applies to every roll.

share|improve this answer
2  
"You gain a +1 bonus to attack rolls and damage rolls until your concentration is broken, but for no longer than 1 minute." Could you be referring to Magic Weapon? –  Lander May 3 at 22:30
    
I might have been, unfortunately. I don't have copies of the latest 5th edition work, and pulled what I could find off the internet, mostly just to ensure the rules didn't VASTLY change from what I expected. –  Loiathal May 7 at 17:11

Attack Action is different from attack. You are not doing one attack. You are doing two attacks in one attack action.

Many extra action features targets the attack action, such as Extra Attack, Two Weapons Fighting, Flurry of blows, or Archery Master feat. They do not apply to all attacks, for example they are not triggered when you cast an attack spell or use your reaction to do an opportunity attack.

Many extra damage and defense features targets attack(s). When something says when you hit or miss, it also is in this camp. Bless, Divine Favor, Improved Divine Smite, Sneak Attack, Heavy Armor Master feat, enhancement bonus etc. all applies to individual attacks. They applies to any applicable attacks.

So, your Divine Favor bonus applies to every weapon hit (not every damage roll).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.