Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I remember reading that during a surprise round you can only take a single action. A charge is usually a full round action but can be used if you are restricted to a single action, as stated in the special attack rules on charge. Since the pounce ability says that you can full attack during a charge, can you use it to full attack during a surprise round? The pounce description in the MM (p313) is as follows:

Pounce (Ex): When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can follow with a full attack—including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability.

My opinion is that you should be able to.

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 15 down vote accepted

As written, I would say yes: you have made a charge, since there's no longer any such thing as a "partial charge" in 3.5. This is another reason why Pounce is awesome.

share|improve this answer

Yes. This works exactly as you describe it.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.