Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When signing up for the playtest, you sign an agreement that basically says you can't quote or share material from the playtest packet.

However, recently, Wizards of the Coast has started to sell modules and the Ghost of Dragonspear castle book, which comes with a rule set for DnDNext. When purchasing this module, it does not ask you to click to agree to any playtest rules, or similar thing.

Additionally, officially the "public playtest has been completed."

Does this mean that I can quote rules from the rules which comes with the modules, or are am I still bound by the agreement for the public playtest?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 15 down vote accepted

First, I'm not a lawyer, I just have a keen personal interest in IP law, from a desire to be a well-educated consumer and creator. You likely don't need legal advice for this, but if you do, get a lawyer, &c.

Yes, the "NDA" is still in effect, but no, it doesn't control use of the retail rules.

The Online Playtest Agreement ("OPTA") only covers the material in the playtest packet. It has no relationship to any material accessed (legally) in any other way; so the retail rules have no connection to the OPTA. Being bound by the OPTA in relation to the playtest packets has no effect on your legal relationship to the retail products in question.

That said, just because the OPTA doesn't bear on your use of the retail rules doesn't mean you can freely quote them. The retail rules are still protected by copyright law, which will vary depending on the jurisdiction you live in. In general, you can expect that discussing and paraphrasing the rules is fine, but copy-pasting them (or copying-then-editing-into-different-words) is going to be a violation of copyright unless that copying falls under a "fair use" or similar exception provided by your local copyright laws. In general, it is safe to assume that any copying at all is not permitted under your local laws; it's often also safe to assume that a violation is unlikely to result in anything more than a stern "remove that, and don't do it again". Again, consult a lawyer if you have any concerns about how you use text owned by Wizards of the Coast.

Finally, just because the rules are out there doesn't mean the OPTA doesn't still control the text that appears in the playtest packets. If you want to discuss a rule in a retail product that happens to also appear in the playtest packet, you still can't quote or distribute text from the playtest packet, even if copyright law wouldn't prevent that use, because the OPTA says you can't. The OPTA (and copyright law) doesn't care if text is the same elsewhere, it cares where you got the text that you are copying. The OPTA doesn't have an expiry date either, so it applies to the playtest packet text forever.

share|improve this answer
    
In the context of "Here is what the rules, say, word by word, so X's understanding of the rules is correct/incorrect. How does the copy paste rule work? –  GMNoob May 11 at 5:45
1  
@GMNoob Some jurisdictions may count that as Fair Use (in the US, that may qualify for the teaching exception) or equivalent, but if not, it's a copyright violation. If from the playtest, the OPTA doesn't provide any exceptions at all and it would violate the agreement. –  SevenSidedDie May 11 at 5:47
    
You might want to make that more clear in your answer. I get what you mean about copying from the PDF file which is the playtest vs the PDF file which is a purchased ruleset, even if they have the same text, but others may not. –  GMNoob May 11 at 6:38
    
@Metool Oops, that was supposed to be "fair" use, yes. –  SevenSidedDie May 11 at 17:10
1  
@starwed Maybe. Depends on the purpose of the quote. Some people ask for explanations in order to get rules for free, which does impact the market for the source. –  SevenSidedDie May 11 at 23:51

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.