Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Are you allowed to use a Metamagic Rod (say Extend) with a spell cast from a scroll or other magical device?

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

My understanding has always been no. A scroll is a spell which is already 99% "cast" and merely awaits the final word/gesture/etc to finish the casting. A metamagic rod needs to be a part of the entire casting of the spell.

share|improve this answer

Artificers can use them while creating the scrolls. It's best if you have a wizard or cleric cast the spells as artificers often can't do the higher level metamagic such as persistent.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.