Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In the Pathfinder rules here's what it says:

If a rogue can catch an opponent when he is unable to defend himself effectively from her attack, she can strike a vital spot for extra damage.

The rogue's attack deals extra damage anytime her target would be denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), or when the rogue flanks her target. This extra damage is 1d6 at 1st level, and increases by 1d6 every two rogue levels thereafter. Should the rogue score a critical hit with a sneak attack, this extra damage is not multiplied. Ranged attacks can count as sneak attacks only if the target is within 30 feet.

I just wanted to confirm, it seems as though a rogue who gets an AoO while flanking would get his sneak attack damage.

Am I mistaken?

share|improve this question
3  
Can you share what makes you think you might be mistaken? –  Ernir May 11 at 15:45

1 Answer 1

up vote 9 down vote accepted

Yes

An AoO while flanking is an attack while flanking, so it meets the condition and does get the bonus damage. In this context, it being an AoO doesn't change anything.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.