Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm considering taking a level of Incarnate, and my race is Warforged, so it'd be good to know how chakra binds would deal with the fact that I'm permanently wearing armour everywhere. Magic of Incarnum pg. 51 specifies that I gain no benefit from magic armour, but I doubt a Warforged's natural body counts as magic. I don't want to lose the benefit of my Mithril Body feat, which is a +5 to AC, whenever I do a chakra bind...

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Only the Soul Chakra comes into play, and that only at 19th

Warforged composite plating takes up the armor slot. Your other slots are free, either for items or for a chakra bind. Since it’s the armor slot, and soulmelds do not conflict with a slot unless you bind, that means the only possible issue is for binding to the soul chakra at level 19+. As for that...

Up to the DM

When you bind a soulmeld to a chakra, it usually fuses to your body in the location corresponding to that chakra. It prevents you from gaining any benefit from a magic item that occupies the corresponding body slot. (In many cases, it also prevents you from physically wearing such a magic item, as dictated by common sense and the description of the soulmeld in question.)

You wouldn’t be able to benefit from any magic applied to your composite plating, but your DM very well may rule that any soulmeld you bind to your soul chakra fits comfortably over your plating: after all, the composite plating is your skin, and fits snugly against you.

If your DM doesn’t let you...

The Unarmored Body feat would fix this issue, but it does mean that from level 1 until level 19, you get neither the composite plating nor the soul chakra bind. This isn’t really the end of the world (you can usually buy better armor than the composite plating, which is fairly lack-luster), but it is an annoying feat tax.

The other solution is the Split Chakra feat, which you could take at 18th level in preparation for your soul chakra opening up at 19th (nothing in the feat says you have to choose a chakra you already have open). That saves you a feat for 17 levels, but it means you lose an 18th-level feat which may be more valuable than a 1st-level feat.

The other other solution is just to multiclass and not pick up the soul chakra at all. Yeah, it’s kind of a capstone, and several of the options are pretty sweet, plus wow is Perfect Meldshaper awesome, but there are some pretty nifty incarnum prestige classes, plus incarnum mixes well with other classes. You’ve already taken a level of swordsage, for example: take another and get Wis-to-AC (though it won’t work if you didn’t take Mithral Body). Or take a dip in cleric; it’s super-fitting for incarnates and is the most powerful single level you can take. Could head towards sapphire hierarch after that one, too, though you better find some +Wis items pronto.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.