Hurl Into Heaven allows you to fling a creature 5 to 50 feet into the air, where it will remain until the start of your next turn. At that point, "the target drops to the ground ... taking 3d10 + Intelligence modifier damage".
My question is, Is this damage in addition to normal falling damage, or in replacement of it? If the former, than this power could be used to inflict up to a total of 8d10+INT damage.
One thing perhaps to note in considering this, is the Miss effect of the power: "You lift the target 5 feet into the air...". Without falling damage, I think there would be nominal difference between being permitted to lift the creature 50 feet on a Hit, and 5 on a Miss.
Another thing to consider is the verbiage "drops to the ground". This could be technically different from falling. However, this brings up another question: If Hurl Into Heaven's damage replaces falling damage, is additional falling damage - beyond that which would otherwise be imposed by Hurl Into Heaven - also negated?
A Goblin is adjacent to a 50-foot pit. A Psion casts Hurl Into Heaven on the Goblin, followed by an Action Point to Dimensional Scramble. Hurl Into Heaven lifts the Goblin 50 feet into the air, and Dimensional Scramble teleports the Goblin to a space over the pit. At the start of the Psion's next turn, the Goblin would "drop" 100 feet before reaching the ground below him.
One of three things may happen here, depending on the rulings:
- Damage from Hurl Into Heaven overrides all falling damage. 3d10+INT
- Damage from Hurl Into Heaven only overrides falling damage imposed by that power. 8d10+INT
- Damage from Hurl Into Heaven is added to all falling damage. 13d10+INT or 3d10+50+INT
So, what happens here?