Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Quick question about first aid (grant 2nd wind). The rules say that the target can use 2nd wind without using an action, so does this mean I could use this to heal a dying character as long as they still have their second wind?

It seems as though this would be the go to thing to do, as far as first aid is concerned, as long as the target has their second wind. If not then I would use stabilize the dying.

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

Yes, that is exactly what it means.

The important thing to remember is that the target has to have their second wind available; if they've already used it in the fight, then first aid will not allow them to use it again. The purpose of that ability is to let players use their second wind to get back even when unconscious (as long as someone else spends the action for them, by using first aid), not to be an extra "emergency" second wind.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.