According to the rules on touch spells in combat it seems like you just hold the charge if you miss, and then perform touch attacks as standard actions until the spell hits.
You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges.
I want to make sure I understand this though, so an example would help me a lot.
Say a cleric is engaged in melee combat with an enemy. The cleric takes a 5 foot step back, and casts Inflict Light Wounds.
Now the enemy moves up to attack and misses.
The cleric makes a standard action touch attack (which does not provoke an AoO) and misses. At this point, is the spell still in the cleric's hands? Does the Instantaneous duration of Inflict Light Wounds matter?
Assuming the spell is still there, the fight continues.
The enemy misses again, and the cleric makes another touch attack and hits (so the spell goes off, right?).
Am I understanding this right? I'm pretty sure ranged touch attack spells are gone after they are shot, but with touch attack spells I'm a bit confused.