Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This might seem like a stupid question, but I am a new DM and not super familiar with 4E rules and wanted to make sure I understand bonuses and how to effects that relate. I read several other questions on here about bonuses but did not get a clear answer.

As stated in title, if an effect gives a bonus to all defenses, does that include AC? For instance, do effects like Amulet of Protection that give "+1 to all defenses" also give a bonus to AC, or just the other 3 defenses?

Also, what does / doesn't that stack with?

Armor gives "untyped" bonus to AC? Shields give a "Shield" bonus to AC? (thus they do not stack with magical effects that give shield effects right?)

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 13 down vote accepted

Amulet of Protection only gives you a bonus to Fort, Reflect and Will. That's what it says in the entry:

Enhancement Bonus: Fortitude, Reflex, and Will

As Zachiel mentions, "All Defenses" means all defenses, AC, Fort, Ref and Will. However, this verbiage is usually used when granting Power bonuses, not usually anything else.

Yes. Armor bonuses are untyped. Shields give Shield bonuses to AC and Ref. Same typed bonuses don't stack, different typed bonuses do. So if a power or item gives a "shield bonus" to AC/Ref and you're already wielding a shield, you get the higher of the two bonuses, not both.

share|improve this answer
    
Thank you for that clarification. That helps to make the situation make sense. –  DiabloMonkey Jun 6 at 14:31
1  
I have a first printing PHB and the text is the same. –  SevenSidedDie Jun 6 at 15:47
1  
@SevenSidedDie cool, conditional statement removed –  wax eagle Jun 6 at 15:51

Anything that gives a bonus to "all defenses" includes AC, since AC is a defense.

Amulet of Protection's text explicitly says "+1 to Fortitude, Reflexes and Will defences".

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.