Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have not been able to find it stated explicitly anywhere but does damage reduction from different sources stack?

For example I have a Lycanthropic character who has dr10/silver and I was looking at the spell Stoneskin which grants DR10/adamantine. Would these stack or would you simply use the highest one? (So if he was struck with silver you would use the adamantine or if hit with adamantine you would use silver.)

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 10 down vote accepted

DR doesn't "stack" per the DR rules:

If a creature has damage reduction from more than one source, the two forms of damage reduction do not stack. Instead, the creature gets the benefit of the best damage reduction in a given situation.

So DR5/magic and DR2/magic don't turn into DR7/magic, but DR10/silver and DR10/adamantine are usable together in that you can pick the one that's best for you at the time. It's like having resistance to energy (fire) and resistance to energy (cold), you can use both, they aren't subject to stacking because they aren't identical effects.

(Exception: if using the armor as DR alternate rule, that DR stacks with other DR.)

share|improve this answer
3  
Just to note: Having DR 10/silver and DR 10/adamantine is effectively the same as having DR 10/silver and adamantine and can be noted as such for succinctness. This doesn't really help if they're differing amounts (such as DR 10/silver and DR 5/-). –  Bobson Jun 9 at 17:42
    
+1 for the notes about Armor as DR. –  Gates VP Jun 10 at 17:42

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.