Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Dungeon World a character earns XP for following his alignment. Is this XP earned every time the character follows his alignment or only at the session's end?

share|improve this question
up vote 14 down vote accepted

It is only at the end of the session.

From page 30 of the rulebook:

Acting according to your alignment and fulfilling the conditions of your alignment moves will grant you XP at the end of each session

And from page 78:

If you fulfilled that alignment at least once this session, mark XP.

share|improve this answer
It is worth noting that the assignment is part of the End of Session move, along with bond resolving and session XP. – SevenSidedDie Jun 14 '14 at 21:01

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.