Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If you take your move action before you use your standard action to fire a ranged weapon, do you suffer from some kind of penalty? And what if you do this via the Shot on the Run feat?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

No, there are no penalties. There's no place in the rules I can really quote here, because it simply isn't considered. The assumption is that if you both move and attack, your movement does not interfere with the attack. There are no combat modifiers related to movement, and it isn't mentioned under either the movement rules or the general combat rules

The same goes for Shot on the Run. (The feat represents the special training your character has to accomplish the maneuver, after all!)

There are explicit penalties when shooting from horseback:

You can use ranged weapons while your mount is taking a double move, but at a –4 penalty on the attack roll. You can use ranged weapons while your mount is running (quadruple speed), at a –8 penalty.

Keep in mind that, generally, if you take a ranged attack and a move, you've spent roughly 3 seconds aiming. That seems like plenty of time for a trained adventurer!

share|improve this answer
3  
Not being able to full-attack is a huge downside, though it's not an explicit penalty; worth mentioning. Also your statement that there are no combat modifiers related to movement is inaccurate; the Charge maneuver gives you combat modifiers directly related to moving a certain way. –  KRyan Jun 15 at 17:13

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.