Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The feat Spell Perfection reads

Pick one spell which you have the ability to cast. Whenever you cast that spell you may apply any one metamagic feat you have to that spell without affecting its level or casting time, as long as the total modified level of the spell does not use a spell slot above 9th level. In addition, if you have other feats which allow you to apply a set numerical bonus to any aspect of this spell (such as Spell Focus, Spell Penetration, Weapon Focus [ray], and so on), double the bonus granted by that feat when applied to this spell.

Emphasis mine.

Would the double bonus apply to the extra dice provided by Intensified Spell as long as your CL was high enough?

Normally the max is 5d6 with normal Intensify it would be 10d6. If Spell perfection would work on it it would be 15d6 max. That is if you have the CL to use all the dice.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

A " set numerical bonus " is exactly what it says, a set numerical bonus (+1 to save DC, +2 to hit with a ray, etc.). That is what gets doubled. Bonus die from any source are not a set numerical bonus, and do not get doubled. :-(

share|improve this answer
    
This. Also Intensified Spell doesn't even give you a set number of dice, since it's level-based. –  Bobson Jun 20 at 19:01
2  
The feat does not add bonus dice. It raises the cap on the number of dice, which technically is a set numerical bonus. –  starwed Jun 21 at 2:25
    
While it is set numerical, it isn't a "bonus" as defined in the glossary: "Bonuses are numerical values that are added to checks and statistical scores. Most bonuses have a type, and as a general rule, bonuses of the same type are not cumulative—only the greater bonus granted applies. The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don't generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works. Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source." –  Axoren Jul 15 at 0:05

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.