Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've just found this item:

Couters of Second Chances (Adv I 116):

Power (Daily)
Free Action. Use this power when you miss with a melee attack. Reroll the attack, and use the second result, even if it’s lower.

And I was wondering if I could use it with the Human Racial Power "Heroic Effort":

Heroic Effort (Heroes of The Forgotten Kingdoms 264):

Power (encounter)
Trigger
: You miss with an attack or fail a saving throw.
Effect: You gain a +4 racial bonus to the attack roll or the saving throw.

Let's suppose I miss an attack and I choose to reroll it with the item's daily power. If I also choose to use the Heroic Effort power, can I apply its benefit to the reroll result? Assume the first result was too low for the use of Heroic Effort making sense.

The order of the actions would be:

  1. Make an attack roll;
  2. miss first attack roll;
  3. use second chance;
  4. reroll;
  5. use heroic effort on the second roll.
share|improve this question
1  
Are you talking about using Heroic Effort before or after the roll of the Second Chance die? You can't apply it before but you can apply it after –  wax eagle Jun 25 at 13:14
1  
Could you clarify the usage limits on "Heroic Effort"? Is it at-will, encounter, daily, etc? –  Grubermensch Jun 25 at 15:31
    
The order would be. 1) Make an attack roll; 2) miss first attack roll; 3) use second chance; 4) reroll; 5) use heroic effort on the second roll... is clearer? –  user3347814 Jun 25 at 15:47
1  
Thanks for clearing it up, and especially for putting it into the question where that belongs. I misread it; that makes it easier to read. :) –  SevenSidedDie Jun 25 at 15:55
1  
@user3347814 best I can tell the original first answer was under the impression that the second scenario in my answer was what you were trying to do. –  wax eagle Jun 25 at 16:02

1 Answer 1

up vote 8 down vote accepted

Yes. Provided you mean after the second roll is rolled. If the you applied it to the first roll, it's spent.

Here is the order of operations, to show how this works with the trigger:

  1. Roll melee Attack.
  2. Check if you missed.
  3. If you missed, use Second Chance as a free action
  4. Reroll via Second Chance.
  5. Check if you missed.
  6. Use Heroic Effort.

The trigger for Heroic Effort is very much in force and available with the second roll. You've just rolled and missed.

However, if instead you used it in the following order:

  1. Roll melee Attack.
  2. Check if you missed.
  3. Use Heroic Effort.
  4. If you still missed, use Second Chance as a free action
  5. Reroll via Second Chance.
  6. Check if you missed.
  7. Heroic effort was expended already, so cannot be used here on a miss.

The other answer here, assumes this scenario to be the case and is correct in that instance, but it seems unclear from the context of the question which is under discussion.

share|improve this answer
3  
I think the other answer read the question as "Roll melee attack. Check if you missed. You miss. Roll Second Chance, with a +4 bonus because of Heroic Effort" which would, indeed, be invalid. I'm not sure which the OP meant though –  Yamikuronue Jun 25 at 13:10
1  
@Yamikuronue updated my answer to speak to both situations. Definitely more unclear than I realized and I've tried to reach out to the OP to clarify. –  wax eagle Jun 25 at 15:24

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.