Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Once a character successfully starts grappling a target, is there now any difference between the aggressor and the defender? Or do both characters get exactly the same mechanical effects, such as no dex bonus to AC, no threatened squares, etc.?

share|improve this question
    
Is there a specific modifier, effect, or situation in the phrase the exact same mechanical effects that inspires doubt? Answering a vague question absolutely is risky. –  Hey I Can Chan Jun 27 at 9:20
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 18 down vote accepted

Usually, yes.

The various rules of the grapple maneuver repeatedly refer to whether or not you are grappling, not who grappled who:

If you succeed, you and your target are now grappling [...]

While you’re grappling, [...]

[...] while grappling

Perhaps most tellingly:

When you are grappling (regardless of who started the grapple), [...]

There are exceptions, however. Improved Grab, for instance, has the following:

The creature has the option to [...] simply use the part of its body it used in the improved grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do [this], it takes a −20 penalty on grapple checks, but is not considered grappled itself; the creature does not lose its Dexterity bonus to AC, still threatens an area, and can use its remaining attacks against other opponents.

share|improve this answer
6  
Worth noting: pinning, which is not symmetric, is one of the possible results of a grapple check but isn't considered part of grappling, at least for the scope of this answer. –  Zachiel Jun 27 at 10:09
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.