Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Dungeons & Dragons 4e can players use an Action Point during a surprise round?

share|improve this question
up vote 16 down vote accepted


If you are able to act during a Surprise roundDDI you have a couple restrictions:

  • You can take one action during a surprise round (minor, move or standard)
  • You can take free actions as well with one exception:
  • You cannot spend action points
  • During the surprise round you can take Immediate and Opportunity actions (just not on your own turn)

If you are surprised you:

  • Cannot take any actions including immediate and opportunity and free actions.
  • Grant Combat Advantage to all attackers for the duration of the surprise round.
  • Cannot flank

The full rules are on p267 of the Player's Handbook and p190 and p235 of the Rules Compendium.

share|improve this answer

According to page 235 of the Rules Compendium, no. The free action to use an Action Point may only be used during your turn, and not during a surprise round.

share|improve this answer

No, but for one main reason: using an action point allows you to have an extra action your turn, which contradicts the rule that allows one action per player in a surprise round.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.