In Dungeons & Dragons 4e can players use an Action Point during a surprise round?
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
If you are able to act during a Surprise roundDDI you have a couple restrictions:
If you are surprised you:
The full rules are on p267 of the Player's Handbook and p190 and p235 of the Rules Compendium.
According to page 235 of the Rules Compendium, no. The free action to use an Action Point may only be used during your turn, and not during a surprise round.
No, but for one main reason: using an action point allows you to have an extra action your turn, which contradicts the rule that allows one action per player in a surprise round.