Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm putting together my first psion. The race will be human, and the focus will be telekinesis. While choosing powers, I've keyed on the special feature of the "Kinetic Trawl" power: "You can use this power unaugmented as a ranged basic attack."

Since human psions get a free, unaugmentable, at-will power, I'm keen to take Kinetic Trawl as that power. But I'm wondering if I shouldn't take something like Static Mote instead. Do I really need a ranged basic when basically every psion power is ranged and at-will?

share|improve this question

closed as primarily opinion-based by blueberryfields, MadMAxJr, Dakeyras, GMJoe, Phil Jul 11 at 9:54

Many good questions generate some degree of opinion based on expert experience, but answers to this question will tend to be almost entirely based on opinions, rather than facts, references, or specific expertise.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Not really.

There are really only a few times that you're going to need a Ranged Basic Attack (RBA). That would be when you're granted an attack from a leader character. There are certain feats and other abilities that affect ranged basic attacks, but this power would not qualify for those as it doesn't read "Can be used as a Ranged Basic Attack" and is instead used itself when you would make one.

So if you have a Shaman, Warlord or Bard who will be granting attacks in your party, this might be a good choice. But look at your other party members. Most likely you've got a striker or two and a defender. Those guys are going to be getting those granted attacks way more often than you will. It's probably not worth it to invest in that as your bonus at-will.

Something else to consider: as of Essentials, the human can take the encounter power Heroic Effort instead of the bonus at-will. This can be a nice little "failed my save...No I didn't" power or can make a missed attack a hit. It's worth looking at closely before you grab that unaugmentable third at-will.

share|improve this answer
    
All of that makes sense. Thank you. –  jsumners Jul 10 at 16:33
add comment

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.