Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

According to DMG p.47 on the FLY: MOVE ACTION

No Opportunity Attacks: A flying creature cannot make opportunity attacks

This makes sense to me, so if a character is flying (e.g. using 'Winged Boots') he cannot make opportunity attacks.

However if the character is on a mount, does he still get the opportunity attack, or is he considered as flying as he has to command his mount?

share|improve this question

This has been eratta'd and is no longer true.

Flying creatures can now take opportunity attacks, so the question is irrelevant.

This section of text is missing from both The RC text (p 210), and the text in the online compendium which references both of these sections. Were this still true it would greatly reduce the effectiveness of numerous monsters and an entire PC race (Pixie), as well as numerous paragon paths and several Epic Destinies.

So to answer the question, yes, if you're flying on a mount you get your opportunity attack (you even increase the number of squares you threaten typically as you threaten all of your mounts adjacent squares.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.