Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I notice that in Blood and Smoke that starting merit dots are 10, but I can't find any further reference to this in either God Machine or Mortal Remains. Since Requiem suggest 7 dots, has the new starting been increased to 10 across the board (all character templates)? If no canonical answer exists what would the suggestion be?

Do hunters count as more supernatural or mortal for this purpose?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 5 down vote accepted

God-Machine mortals use the base WoD rules unless they've been overwritten, so they keep the standard starting 7 merit dots.

Dave Brookshaw, who works at Onyx Path, has said:

Supernatural creatures get ten Merit dots now.

So that's something Kindred (and Mages, etc.) get but mortals don't.

For the purposes of Mortal Remains, hunters are mortals. They're part of the category of "lesser templates," which are distinct from the "major templates" like Kindred, Mages, Forsaken, etc. Even core GMC mortals can have a touch of the supernatural, like old nWoD Second Sight characters, but still only get 7 starting merit dots.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.