Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Many of the spells in the Basic Rules indicate that they require material components. For the components that don't have a specific cost (I tend to call these mundane components), the Basic Rules state that I can get the components from a Component Pouch.

Component Pouch. A component pouch is a small, watertight leather belt pouch that has compartments to hold all the material components and other special items you need to cast your spells, except for those components that have a specific cost (as indicated in a spell’s description).

D&D Basic Rules v0.1 | Page 48

How many times can I cast spells using a Component Pouch as the source of my material components, before the pouch is empty? (Or, having purchased a Component Pouch, do I now need to go out and source all of the material components I am going to need?)

RAW answers are preferable, but in the absence of those, working (tested) house-rules are acceptable. If your answer is a house-rule, please make that clear in your answer.

share|improve this question
Similar topic, different edition: What is the point of a spell component pouch? – GamerJosh Jul 18 '14 at 19:42
up vote 22 down vote accepted

The answer is on page 79 of the Basic rules:

Material (M)

Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.

Simply having the pouch is enough to cast spells with non-valuable material components. It is assumed that your wizard automatically manages to keep the pouch full of the various odds-and-ends he requires.

share|improve this answer
Probably worth pointing out that generally, the components in a spell component pouch (i.e. ones without a listed cost) are not consumed by the spell, only required to cast it. So you wouldn't run out. – SirTechSpec Jun 21 at 20:47

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.