Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Pathfinder, smite damage adds +paladin level (or 2 × paladin level) to damage when smiting evil. The rules for critical hits say:

A critical hit means that you roll your damage more than once, with all your usual bonuses, and add the rolls together.... Exception: Precision damage (such as from a rogue's sneak attack class feature) and additional damage dice from speacial weapon qualities (such as flaming) are not multiplied when you score a critical hit. — P. 184

I'm not sure whether smite evil counts as precision damage. Does Smite Evil damage get multiplied, or not? Thoughts, rulings?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 20 down vote accepted

Smite damage is not precision damage, and since it is extra points not extra dice of damage, it is definitely multiplied. The only things not multiplied on crits are extra dice of damage, such as precision damage or weapon effects like flaming.

share|improve this answer
3  
To elaboreate on the above - +[Number] ALWAYS multiplies, but +XdX NEVER multiplies. Easiest way to remember it. –  Lord_Gareth Jan 9 '13 at 2:32
    
Also, nothing is really multiplied as much as rolled multiple times. d8+5 on a crit would be rolled twice, possibly resulting in (4+5) + (1+5) damage. –  leokhorn Feb 13 at 18:03
    
Little math tip, adding the same number is also called "multiplying". –  mxyzplk Feb 13 at 23:21
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.