Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The description for Battle Cleric's Lore says "You gain a +2 shield bonus to AC", but shield bonuses are a special type of bonus that boosts AC and Reflex. Is this an exception, or can I boost Reflex too even though it only mentions AC (in Dragon #400)?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

In DnD4 the rules are very strict. If it says AC, you only increase AC, even if something implies it otherwise.

So you do not get any bonus to Reflex.

share|improve this answer

You can't boost reflexes too, but it's not an exception.

Shields are items that add a shield bonus to AC and a shield bonus to Reflexes. This does not mean that everything that gives a shield bonus to one of the two needs to give a shield bonus to the other: it's coincidental.

Battle Cleric's Lore only gives a shield bonus to AC (arguably because it's not a shield, but that's just because we'd expect any shield to get both, not because it's universally true).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.