Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I was wondering if a Barbarian's Rage with an Eye of Gruumsh's Rage would stack to make Greater Rage. It would make sense to me since you can have two classes with Uncanny Dodge which turns into Improved Uncanny Dodge.

share|improve this question
1  
As an aside... Eye of Gruumsh is an extremely dated Prestige Class. Look at Black Blood Cultist - their levels stack with Barbarian to determine the Type of Rage they get, and Number of Rages per day. Ask your DM to make a house ruling on it. –  Ruut Jul 21 at 15:21
    
Thank you, I will take a look. –  Forrest Leon Aug 6 at 0:22

1 Answer 1

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Unfortunately Not

The extraordinary ability rage granted by the prestige class eye of Gruumsh says

An eye of Gruumsh can fly into a rage just as a barbarian can, with all the same benefits and drawbacks (see page 25 of the Player’s Handbook). An eye of Gruumsh’s class levels stack with his barbarian levels (if any) for determining the number of times per day he can use his rage ability. Add together the character’s levels in the eye of Gruumsh and barbarian classes and refer to Table 3–3: The Barbarian on page 25 of the Player’s Handbook to determine the number of rages per day. For example, a 6th-level barbarian/2nd-level eye of Gruumsh could rage three times per day (the same as an 8th level barbarian), while a 4th-level eye of Gruumsh with no levels in barbarian could rage twice per day (the same as a 4th-level barbarian). (CW 33)

There's no mention of greater rage (nor of mighty rage, for that matter) in the description of the eye of Gruumsh's rage. He just rages like a normal barbarian. But he spits a lot, and everyone knows spitting is cool.


Only things that say that they combine for greater effects actually combine for greater effects. For example, a level 2 monk who gains evasion and who later becomes a level 2 rogue gains no benefit from having evasion twice. (That's sort of what alternative class feature are for.)

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.