Sign up ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The text from Somatic reads that the caster must have a hand free to gesture with when they cast a spell with a somatic component.

None of the conditions such as restrained or grappled seem to restrict hand motion.

Am I missing something or are these conditions useless for preventing the casting of somatic component spells?

share|improve this question
You still need an action to cast a spell. Certain conditions disallow actions or restrict a character to specific actions. I don't have the rules at hand, but from memory I'd say that being grappled and held restricts you to actions that break the hold. – nvoigt Jul 21 '14 at 15:53
@nvoigt neither restrict action. Yes, obviously conditions like unconscious, petrified and incapacitated prevent you from casting any spells. – wax eagle Jul 21 '14 at 15:56
@waxeagle Is your intent to restrict answers to RAW only, or would you welcome other interpretations? – GMJoe Jul 22 '14 at 2:38
I believe restrained gives you disadvantage on attacks, so if you wanted to cast a spell that requires an attack roll, restrained would come into play there, but not on the somatic components question. – PurpleVermont Jan 19 at 16:52

1 Answer 1

Basically the rule requires you don't wield a weapon or shield without a feat that allows you to.

Page 79 under material component.

A spell caster must have a hand free to access these components , but it can be the same hand used for the somatic components.

So yes those conditions are not useful for distracting a wizard. The best thing you can do is be adjacent to the wizard, or hurt them so they need to make a concentration check.

share|improve this answer
Being adjacent doesn't really help in this edition. I suppose you could prepare an action to whack them if they try casting, and hope they fail their concentration check? – PurpleVermont Jan 19 at 16:51
@PurpleVermont adjacency will inflict disadvantage on a ranged attack spell. – wax eagle Jan 19 at 18:39
@waxeagle if so, we've been playing that wrong (or maybe it never came up - we have a large party and the caster is pretty good at staying out of the fray). Can you point out the page number where that is stated? Thanks! – PurpleVermont Jan 19 at 22:36
@PurpleVermont That's a separate question really, but check out the combat chapter under "Ranged attacks in close combat" ranged spell attacks are still ranged attacks. – wax eagle Jan 19 at 23:53

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.