Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Arrow Eruptions states that:

You create exact duplicates of the arrow or crossbow bolt you used to kill a creature in the previous round and launch one at enemy creatures within a 30-foot radius of the corpse. You can target one creature per caster level (maximum 15) within range of the burst and must make a single attack roll and apply it to each arrow. These duplicate arrows possess all the intrinsic magical properties of the arrow that killed the original creature as well as those passed on to it by your bow. They also enjoy the full benefit of any bonuses or modifiers you applied to the attack from other magical items, feats, and class or racial features. However, this spell cannot reproduce any spells or other limited-use magical effects that you used to enhance that particular attack. This includes such effects as the true strike spell, as well as any area spell you might have placed on the arrow by means of the arcane archer's imbue arrow class feature.

And Arrow of Death, an Arcane Archer (Prestige Class) ability states that:

At 10th level, an arcane archer can create a special type of slaying arrow that forces the target, if damaged by the arrow's attack, to make a Fortitude save or be slain immediately. The DC of this save is equal to 20 + the arcane archer's Charisma modifier. It takes 1 day to make a slaying arrow, and the arrow only functions for the arcane archer who created it. The slaying arrow lasts no longer than 1 year, and the archer can only have one such arrow in existence at a time.

My question is, can you use Arrow Eruption to duplicate an Arrow of Death shot the last round? How will the two spells work with each other, if at all?

share|improve this question
1  
Jack's answer is correct, however you could purchase or craft an Arrow of Slaying or Greater Arrow of Slaying, and Eruption on that. :) –  MikeR Jul 25 at 12:25
    
Out of curiosity, can you pick up the arrow out of the enemy corpse? –  Thoth19 Jul 25 at 13:16
    
@thoth19 No, once an arrow hits a target it is considered destroyed, according to the core rulebook. –  MikeR Jul 28 at 12:15

1 Answer 1

up vote 12 down vote accepted

No.

Funnily enough, it comes down to this line.

and the archer can only have one such arrow in existence at a time.

This makes the arrow a

limited-use magical effects that you used to enhance that particular attack.

which means the Slaying ability of the arrow is not duplicated by Arrow Eruption.

The intent is clear and would disallow this, and thanks to that line, the RAW is, too.

You would duplicate the enchantments on the arrow, any bonuses granted by your feats or class abilities that are not limited-use magical effects or spells, and otherwise treat the duplicated arrows as the arrow you used, but without the slaying property or any other limited-use abilities or spells applied to it.

share|improve this answer
    
Do you still "have" the arrow once you have used it? "have" is a rather strange verb when it comes to something you fire. Do you still have a bullet once you fired it? I'd say no. So likewise, you don't "have" the arrow anymore once you fired it, and you would normally have to make a new one. Remember that the arrow is not a "limited-use magical effect", it is an actual arrow you created, with the only limitation that it only works for you and you can't have more than one. –  Theik Jul 25 at 12:02
4  
I would say that "can't have more than one" very definitely puts the "limit" in "limited-use magical effect". –  anaximander Jul 25 at 12:29

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.