Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm here discussing with a friend if the Paladin can have a Familiar or not.

The Familiar Feat says that as long as you have a spell of the Wizard list on your Spell List, you can own a familiar, however my friends says Paladin can't and shouldn't benefit from Familiars.

So, can a Paladin own a Familiar even if it's not a "full spellcaster" like the Cleric or Wizard?

share|improve this question

closed as unclear what you're asking by SevenSidedDie, KRyan, Aldath Le'Carde, SnakeDr68, C. Ross Jul 30 '14 at 0:54

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

it might help to specify which version of the playtest you're referring to? I've got the October 2013 release and it doesn't have a familiar feat. – wax eagle Jul 28 '14 at 20:24
The packet dated June 7, 2013 ("060713") has the Find Familiar feat. Is that what you mean? It doesn't mention Wizard spell lists, so I'm not sure it is. – SevenSidedDie Jul 28 '14 at 21:09
Voting to close as "unclear" until it's clarified which rules-as-written are being asking about. – SevenSidedDie Jul 29 '14 at 18:35

No, paladins take spells from the paladin spell list not from the wizard spell list. If a paladin wants a familiar it will have to take a level of wizard, or find another way to get a spell from the wizard spell list, such as the arcane initiate feat, or being an elf with a cantrip.

Even though there might be a spell on both lists, that doesn't count as a wizard spell. You can see this language clearly with clerical domain spells.

share|improve this answer
Couldn't the Paladin take the Arcane Initiate feat to get the Find Familiar spell? – GamerJosh Jul 28 '14 at 20:33
@gamerjosh They could, but I'm understanding the question being mainly about the status of paladin. I'll clarify. – GMNoob Jul 28 '14 at 20:36
Or perhaps a high elf paladin with their free wizard cantrip? – Aviose Jul 28 '14 at 21:00
Sorry, I feel we need emphasis on methods that don't require multiclassing to keep perceived spirit of request. Race choice seemed the least invasive, with a feat being second, and far more expensive, in my opinion. I admittedly glanced at GMNoob's answer very quickly and mist that last condition. – Aviose Jul 28 '14 at 21:42
@Aviose The spirit of the request is explaining whether the paladin's normal spell access qualifies for the feat. The rest is just bonus: nice to have, but not the point. – SevenSidedDie Jul 28 '14 at 22:16

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.