Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Dispel magic says:

If you target an object or creature that is the effect of an ongoing spell (such as a monster summoned by summon monster), you make a dispel check to end the spell that conjured the object or creature.

If a summoner uses summon monster 3 to summon multiple lower level creatures (lets say 3 earth elementals) then am I correct in reading this as saying that a dispel magic targeting any of those three elementals will dispel all of them?

They were all summoned by the same spell so even though there are three elementals dispelling one will dispel all three.

share|improve this question
up vote 22 down vote accepted


Summoned creatures are the Effect (as in spell description) of the Summon Monster/SNA (or similar) spells. Dispel Magic explicitly states that the spell is dispelled rather than the creature itself. Since multiple creatures are still the Effect of a single spell, dispelling the spell dismisses all creatures.

share|improve this answer
This is specifically a case where the specific (dispel magic's explicit rule) overrides the general (each monster is its own creature). – Bobson Jul 31 '14 at 13:06

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.