Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Our wizard has the feat Twist the Arcane Fabric, which lets you teleport an ally out of an area of effect spell.

In a recent battle the wizard was blinded, and so the DM ruled that the wizard could not use Fey Step with this feat to teleport an ally, because they can't see where to teleport them to.

So can a blind character use a teleport ability to move another creature?

share|improve this question
up vote 12 down vote accepted

No, a blind creature cannot teleport another creature (or itself).

This question largely duplicates a previous question.

Does teleportation require line of sight?

The blindedDDI condition does state that you cannot see any target.

share|improve this answer
Largly, but not completely – Mark Rogers Nov 15 '10 at 16:25
@Mark What else are you looking for then? – anon186 Nov 15 '10 at 17:50
This was a question from a member of my group that wanted to be sure that the line of sight restriction also applies to teleporting creatures other than the teleporter. I'm merely saying that this question explicitly covers the edge case of when a creature teleports an ally rather than itself. Where-as the other question has a more general focus, though it does implicitly answer the same question. – Mark Rogers Nov 15 '10 at 20:53
p214 of the Rules Compendium states that the "user of the teleportation power must have line of sight to the destination square" – Simon Withers Nov 16 '10 at 2:12

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.