Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm aware that you can't brew a potion from any spell with range:personal, target:you, since it is restricted to:

any 3rd-level or lower spell that you know and that targets one or more creatures

However, staves and wands do not have this restriction.

To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for nonhumanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area.

So, what if you point your wand of true strike at somebody else? Does the spell then effect them?

share|improve this question
@Why, exactly, does Potion of True Strike not work? Are "you" not "one or more creatures"? – Matthew Najmon Mar 31 '15 at 17:35
up vote 16 down vote accepted

No. Nothing in the wand rules notes that anything about the spells stored in the wand changes. While the list of spells in the wands are all spells that can target other creatures, there is no reason why a wand cannot cast a spell of "personal" range on the person who can trigger the spell.

A feat or PrC is needed for the wand to behaved differently. Extending personal spells to others can be done through the Spellguard of Silverymoon PrC (Player's Guide to Faerûn).

share|improve this answer
Strictly speaking the claim that "Nothing in the wand rules notes that anything about the spells stored in the wand changes," is incorrect, at least without Rules Compendium. Under the original rules, activating a spell in a Wand was always a standard action, regardless of how long the original spell took. Rules Compendium fixed this oversight, however. – KRyan Oct 11 '12 at 21:50

No, it does not.

Activating a wand is a Spell TriggeredD20SRD action. That means it is cast as if the user of the wand had cast the spell. It still has a range of personal and only affects the creature who activated the wand.

share|improve this answer

You could store spell in wands and then let others use it. Players in my group do this the thief carries around a wand with true strike, and usually a healing scroll in case the healers go down. Just make sure use magical device is way high.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.