Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm converting the characters for my party from D&D4E to D&D5E, and I have a question about the Cleric (level 1).

He has a Dexterity of 8, and also has a Light Crossbow (which he is proficient with). The attack roll when he uses the crossbow should then be +1 (+2 proficiency -1 dex mod), and the damage roll should then be 1d8-1. Is this correct ?

Does a negative modifier (Strength/Dexterity) also apply to the damage roll ?

The rules just state that the modifier has to be added to the damages, but there is nothing specified for negative modifiers.. (that why I assume it should be 1d8-1). It does look a but weird, though.

From the Basic Rules (p. 75):

When attacking with a weapon, you add your ability modifier—the same modifier used for the attack roll— to the damage.

PS: I know the crossbow is not the first thing a Cleric should use so this is not a critical issue.. but still, I'd like to know how the rules work for this situation :-)

share|improve this question
up vote 11 down vote accepted

Yes, you add add the negative modifier.

There is nothing that says not to, and the modifier is a factor. You might be wise however, to state that the minimum damage is 1. It seems awfully silly for you to get a hit, and roll a 1 and do no damage at all.

Might I recommend a simple thrown weapon so as to use his (probably much higher) strength score? Perhaps a javelin or a handaxe?

share|improve this answer
He's already playing a Cleric (i.e. god-mode). No need to make things any easier on him. – Mark Bessey Aug 9 '14 at 0:37
@Mark_Bessey Are divine spellcasters still CoDzillas in 5e? I don't have much experience yet with this edition so I genuinely don't know. – El Suscriptor Justiciero Nov 28 '14 at 8:29

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.