Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The spell Color Spray causes up to three effects. Can you confirm what each effect does against Small Earth Elementals?

I know the mechanics of the spell. Pathfinder has a habit of tripping me up on things that I misremember from other systems. I'm looking to check that I haven't missed any of the small details.

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

Small Earth Elementals are Outsiders (Elementals, Earth, Extraplanar). Outside, Extraplanar and Earth appear to be irrelevant here.

Color Spray's three effects are:
a) Unconscious - I believe nothing they have protects against this effect.

b) Blinded - Tremorsense could be used to negate the reflex save or fall over, assuming that they are i) on the ground, ii) able to use that ability and iii) Most importantly, your DM agrees (YMMV).

Using RAW they still have to make a acrobatics check or fall over when they move more than half speed. Once in range of their target however tremorsense (if valid) lets them hit the target with a 50% miss chance due to being able to pinpoint the square. They still suffer all other effects of being blinded

c) Stunned - Elementals are immune

share|improve this answer
I think you mean acrobatics check or fall over? – Tim B Aug 7 '14 at 6:55
+1 for teaching me that Elementals can be knocked unconscious. In fact, I learned they do not die at 0hp and they are actually subject to nonlethal damage. – MrLemon Aug 7 '14 at 8:42
You're welcome. I thought they were immune to the unconscious aspect as well. I kept thinking that they were in 3.5, but alas, still not immune to mind affected there either. – Mourdos Aug 7 '14 at 9:50

A Small Earth Elemental is a 2HD creature, so it would normally get "The creature is unconscious, blinded, and stunned for 2d4 rounds, then blinded and stunned for 1d4 rounds, and then stunned for 1 round." but elementals are immune to the stunned effect so that would leave you with "The creature is unconscious and blinded for 2d4 rounds, then blinded for 1d4 rounds."

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.