Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If you multiclass a Warlock and a Sorcerer, then you have a character with both the Spellcasting and Pact Magic features.

PHB Page 101, Sorcerer, Spellcasting, Spell Slots:

You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a long rest.

PHB Page 107, Warlock, Pact Magic, Spell Slots:

You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a short or long rest.

PHB Page 165, Customization Options, Multiclassing, Class Features:

Pact Magic. If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class feature from the warlock class, you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to cast spells you know or have prepared from classes with the Spellcasting class feature, and you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know.

Do the spell slots keep their previous method of recovery (sorcerer slots long rest, warlock slots any rest), or do they all act consistently as I am led to believe from the language of the multiclass section? Do they all recover only from long rests as per the sorcerer feature, or can they all be recovered with a short rest because the warlock feature says so?

share|improve this question
up vote 16 down vote accepted

Your spell slots recover based on the class feature that allows your spellcasting.

The language in the multiclassing section only mentions how you cast spells, not how you recover them. Note that recovery isn't mentioned at all in that paragraph. The spell slots are interchangeable when you're casting, but they recover based on their own mechanics. Unlike spell slots from multiple classes, they don't merge into one pool; they remain separate except when you're actually casting out of them.

As a Warlock/Sorcerer, you have both the Pact Magic feature and the Spellcasting feature, which recover spell slots separately. Pact Magic slots recover on any rest, and Spellcasting slots recover on a long rest.

share|improve this answer
I nearly incorrectly 'corrected' you before carefully re-reading the appropriate rules, and realizing that the Warlock is the single exception to the multiclassing spellcaster spell slots chart on p165. I don't know if making that a bit more expressly clear for people who have missed it is worth an edit or not. – Theo Brinkman Sep 25 '14 at 5:47
The key point is that Warlocks don't have Spellcasting at all. They have Pact Magic. Despite sharing a lot of similar terminology - spells, spell levels, etc - they are different abilities with different rules. The multi-classing rules present a bridge between them, but they're still different abilities. – T.J.L. Oct 21 '15 at 13:16

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.