Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I am playing a Warlock with the Eldritch Strike power, which has the following piece of text: This power counts as a melee basic attack.

This means that I have two MBAs, my normal strength-scaling MBA, and the Con-based Eldritch Strike.

It's pretty clear that as the character's player, I can choose which MBA I use at any given moment.

My question is when my character is subject to a power that forces me to make an MBA, such as the Vizier Devil:

Word Of Command: Choose one creature within 2 squares of the devil. The devil slides that creature 3 squares, and the creature makes a melee basic attack as a free action against a creature of the devil's choice.

It's clear that the devil is telling me who to attack, but not which attack my character uses or who would get to decide.

So, who makes the decision?

share|improve this question
up vote 11 down vote accepted

The key word here is that the creature makes a MBA. You are forced to make a MBA against a creature of the devil's choice, but everything else is up to you.

share|improve this answer
yeah, in contrast to Dominate where the DM would choose the action. – wax eagle Aug 10 '14 at 12:29

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.