Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Clockwork Automaton template makes a creature a construct with a soul. The Inorganic Functioning extraordinary ability says "if the creature reaches 0 HP or below, the automaton will case [sic] functioning and be treated as unconscious." (I think 'case' should be 'cease'.)

Rapid Repair says "It has no effect on a construct that has been brought to 0 hit points or destroyed."

Does Rapid Repair work on a construct with less than 0 hit points? Is this a loophole or just a overlooked posibility?

Is the additional cost for negative hit points described in Inorganic Functioning only added when using Craft to repair or also when using a repair spell?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

This is probably a matter of two different things that operate in unusual ways not accounting for one another.

Usually, when a construct is reduced below 0 HP, it is destroyed. The limitation on rapid repair covers this case, and doesn’t work.

But Clockwork Automaton has the creature become Unconscious, rather than destroyed, when below 0 HP. The whole point of the ability is so that they can be repaired more easily than typical resurrections; it explicitly says they “can be restored by use of the make whole spell [...] or other repair spells for constructs.” That said, I note that make whole does not use the same line as rapid repair about not working for constructs that are destroyed or at 0 HP.

Ultimately, the fact that rapid repair does not work for constructs at 0 HP (when a construct is normally inert but not destroyed) implies to me that it should not work for Clockwork Automatons below 0 HP. RAW, however, this unusual exception to the typical construct rules is not explicitly covered by rapid repair.

But this is a specific limitation of rapid repair; other spells that lack the line about not working on constructs with 0 HP, I would allow to work, per Inorganic Functioning’s statement that Clockwork Automatons “can be restored by [...] other repair spells for constructs.”

Regarding extra costs, that much, at least, is clear: “Regardless of the method used,” repairing a Clockwork Automaton with 0 or less HP is going to be expensive. Even if the method used would usually be free.

share|improve this answer
    
what about the additional cost, does it count for make whole? –  shaggy1987 Aug 11 at 12:58
1  
@shaggy1987 Added to the answer; yes, yes it does. –  KRyan Aug 11 at 13:03

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.