In our last session, after a nasty battle at sea (A dragon pride pirate ship magically enhanced by 5 dragons), we were stranded on a large ship with broken masts and our ship listing heavily to one side. We repaired the hull, and managed to fix the listing with control water, and fashioned a makeshift sail and riggings, but we still needed to get back to port as quickly as possible, and we were about 2 days out with the current wind conditions. So our Druid decided to cast control weather to create a light breeze to hasten our return to port. The DM then said that the spell allowed him to roll to see what type of weather actually appeared. His D% rolled a 6 and he informed us that a cat 4 hurricane would reach us in about 3 hours. The druid was then periodically prompted to make concentration checks to control the spell (I told him that it was pointless since it did not appear that he was doing a great job controlling it at the moment anyways.) Once he failed the check, due mostly to penalties from the worsening wind and rain, the storm swelled to a cat 5 (of course).
In the end things actually faired pretty well. We managed to fly back to land ahead of the storm. We then proceeded to use Wall of stone (we burned up all of our castings between 4 casters) to make a sea wall to protect the nearby town from the storm surge, and then we were able to find another ship that had washed up on shore in ok condition. So all seems to have ended well, no casualties and minimal lost items and such, and we are now back on our journey.
However, I am confused on the application of this spell. Isn't the spell called "Control Weather?" It seems to be quite a silly spell if you can ask for a gentle breeze and end up with a cat 5 hurricane. Everyone else in the group, including the Druid that cast the spell insists that the DM played it RAW. But as I understand it, the plain text of the spell says "You control the general tendencies of the weather, such as the direction and intensity of the wind." So from that I would assume that he could create a light breeze in a certain direction, just not direct it right into the sails. As I said, I understand Rule 0, I want to know if I am missing something RAW.
- Does the DM decide the weather when this spell is cast, or does the caster?
- Is there any danger of the spell "getting away from you" (i.e. turning a light breeze into a hurricane)?
- How should I present this to the DM?
As a dedicated caster (lvl17 Cleric/radiant servant utility caster) it is getting difficult to rely on spells when their effects are not consistent with the rules. And as a new player, I am getting sick of not being able to rely on the descriptions of the spells in the book.