Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was reading into Magic Jar. It is used to takeover someone's body and you can have all the fun you whant with that body, you have total control.

If the host body is slain, you return to the magic jar, if within range, and the life force of the host departs (it is dead).

  • Can I perform a Coup de Grace on my self?
  • Are there any other fast ways to 'commit suicide'/'kill your self' in game?
share|improve this question
In the Pathfinder antecedent Dungeons and Dragons 3.5, one casts on oneself the 1st-level Clr spell painless death [necro] (Gh 56). – Hey I Can Chan Aug 12 '14 at 1:48
Research an original spell - Summon Guillotine. Sounds like a first level spell to me. – user2754 Aug 12 '14 at 6:54
Not an answer: In real life, failing at suicide does happen. Whether or not you want to roleplay that is an entirely different question. Whether or not you need to roleplay that, a decision to be made by your DM. – Zibbobz Aug 12 '14 at 13:32
what are you talking about? no one is talking about real life. – shaggy1987 Aug 12 '14 at 17:47
up vote 16 down vote accepted

That very much depends on what you mean by "in game."

During a game?


PC: "I fall on my sword."
DM: "Okay. You die."

Using standard combat options?


At least, not guaranteed at every table by a common understanding of the rules.

Coup de grace requires that the target be helpless before it's an option, and whether you're helpless to yourself is going to split the audience of DMs down the middle, more or less. Some will say no, you aren't helpless to yourself ("heck, people flinch away from their own razor!"), and others will say sure, go ahead and coup yourself out.

The combat actions and options made available by the game just aren't intended to cover every possible violence that a PC could commit. If you're alone, just you and a basket of puppies, and you pick it up and hurl it over the cliff, do you have to roll initiative? No — there's nobody there to contest with for the initiative. There's no action involved that's combative. At most it's a skill check, if for some reason there's the possibility of fumbling the throw and not disturbingly dispatching the puppies. It's not even a coup de grace.

When you're dealing with a character committing suicide (for whatever reason), unless it's suicide-by-battle the combat rules aren't engaged by the action. It's just violence, tragic or senseless, committed by the character against themself, vetted by the DM as possible and properly executed, and observed by your fellow players as a contribution to the shared imaginary space you're all consenting to create.

share|improve this answer
with 'in game' I meant 'not in real life'. So yes During a game. but prefered as an in-combat action. – shaggy1987 Aug 12 '14 at 11:26
what you are saying is it is up to the DM/GM? And with the 'Magic Jar' spell it is not a tragic or senseless and technically it is not even committed by the character against themself but against someone else hisself. – shaggy1987 Aug 12 '14 at 11:47
This site leaves me at somewhat at a loss with its frequent occurrences of, for loss of a better word, "rule jockeying". I (and the people I game with) always understood RPG rules to be in place for those situations where the outcome is unclear, i.e. when there's opposition, or your skills might not suffice for what you are attempting to do. But there seems to be a different game culture that seems to take RPG rules like a computer game engine: If it's not in the rules, you cannot do it. I feel that must make for a rather sad gaming experience... – DevSolar Aug 12 '14 at 11:48
You could always bring yourself down to low health, cast Hold Person on yourself, then use Delayed Blast Fireball to finish yourself off. – Seri Aug 12 '14 at 14:43
@DevSolar It's a common approach online. Partly because when discussing online there is no GM, so everyone tries to appeal to just the rules as written. Partly because when discussing online you're not actually playing, so trying to squeeze as much out of the rules as possible becomes the the most engagement with the game possible online. I agree it does skew the view of the game toward legalism, and the rules detached from their fuzzy-logic CPU (GM's brain) is a different game than at the table. – SevenSidedDie Aug 12 '14 at 16:35
  • No, by logical paradox.

The conditions for being helpless against yourself are interesting. In one hand, you are completely at your own mercy, giving you the advantage over yourself, allowing for a Coup de Grace to occur. However, because you have the advantage over yourself, you aren't considered helpless against yourself.

  • Traps, area spells, or poisons.

It is probably easier to drink 10 doses of CON poison and reduce your CON to 0. If I remember correctly, you can intentionally take 1 on any saving throw to roll an auto-fail. If not, just drink more doses until you fail 10 times.

Alternatively, you can just throw every bead from a Necklace of Fireballs up in the air and take roughly 45d6 of damage (depending on which level of necklace you used).

Set up a pit trap and jump down it. Make sure it's deep enough for you to die at the bottom.

share|improve this answer
A creature can only voluntarily fail saving throws versus magic spells and psionic powers. There might be other corner cases, but poison's not one. – Hey I Can Chan Aug 12 '14 at 0:25
Then the alternate option to drink more will have to suffice. – Axoren Aug 12 '14 at 1:31
With 'Magic Jar' it is not guaranteed the body has any of those things on it. Therefore a poison or magic item is not reliable. I think you do keep your own spells. – shaggy1987 Aug 12 '14 at 12:13
The range for Magic Jar is medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level). Just walk over to your original body and pull out poisons. – Axoren Aug 14 '14 at 5:37

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.