Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I created a dragon for my group and am interested about its attacks during a fight. The detailed statblock can be found here.

Am I right that the dragon has two attacks per round, since his BAB is higher than 5 and smaller than 11? So - as a standard action - can he attack in one round with his bite and with both claws, or just his two claws?

Is he able to cast ghost sound and attack with both wings in the same round as a standard action?

When using a full round action, how many attacks can he do?

As you can see, I'm quite confused about the number of attacks per round (for a standard action or for a full round action)

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 8 down vote accepted

Natural attacks work completely different than attacks with manufactured weapons. You get one attack per "natural weapon", but you do not get iterative attacks for high BAB.

[...] You do not receive additional natural attacks for a high base attack bonus. Instead, you receive additional attack rolls for multiple limb and body parts capable of making the attack (as noted by the race or ability that grants the attacks). [...]

In your case, the dragon can, as a full-round action do all the attacks listed under

Melee bite +15 (2d6+7), 2 claws +14 (1d8+5), 2 wings +12 (1d6+2), tail slap +12 (1d8+7)

Or any one of them as a standard action. That means 1 bite, 1 claw, 1 wing or 1 tail slap, at the bonuses and damage listed above.

Bite and claws are primary natural attacks, which means they are made at full BAB+Str (+1 for the bite because of of weapon focus). The wings and the tail slap are secondary natural attacks, which means they are made at -2, due to the multiattack feat the dragon has.

Using the ghost sound SLA is a standard action in and of itself, so it can't be combined with any attack that round.

share|improve this answer
    
so full-round is clear to me. (boy, is this beast powerful!) and for standard action that would mean any of the comma-separated attacks? so also the 2 claws attacks which would mean +14/+14 (1d8+5) ? –  mawimawi Aug 13 at 14:43
1  
@mawimawi no - as a standard action your dragon can make a single claw attack - it's almost unheard of to get more than a single attack as a standard action in PF –  G0BLiN Aug 13 at 14:49
    
@mawimawi GoBLin is correct, I have edited the answer to clarify. –  MrLemon Aug 13 at 14:50
    
Ahh, found the correct page. It's in Combat rather than universal monster... –  MrLemon Aug 13 at 14:58
2  
Note that a dragon's full attack can be incredibly fatal to even high level PCs. Playing a dragon smart - increasing his own survivability with techniques like strafing with breath weapons and using spells from a high hover - also increases the PCs' survivability as well, because he's not landing in the middle of the melee and dropping full attacks. If he's cornered in his lair, though... well, animals get dangerous when cornered. Let that full-attack go and the survivors will find someplace besides melee range to be. –  gatherer818 Aug 13 at 16:39

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.