Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Otyugh description reads:

Tentacle, At-Will

Attack: Melee 3 (one creature); +12 vs. AC

The way I read it due to it mentioning "one creature" that its 3 attacks per standard action. Is this correct?

share|improve this question
up vote 15 down vote accepted

No.

That 3 is actually it's melee reach.

A multi attack stat block in 4e looks like:

Effect: The mooncalf makes three melee attacks, each against a different target.

When you see a power say melee X, the X refers to the reach of the attack. melee 1 is the default, but you might see 0, 2, 3, or more.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.