Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The pathfinder core books states:

"Off-Hand Weapon: When you deal damage with a weapon in your off hand, you add only 1/2 your Strength bonus. If you have a Strength penalty, the entire penalty applies.

Wielding a Weapon Two-Handed: When you deal damage with a weapon that you are wielding two-handed, you add 1-1/2 times your Strength bonus (Strength penalties are not multiplied). You don't get this higher Strength bonus, however, when using a light weapon with two hands."

So for those with an odd number for their Strength Modifier do you round up, down or do we actually do 0.5 damage?

EX: Two-weapon rouge with str mod 1. Does str bonus for offhand damage round down to 0, up to 1 or does it deal 0.5

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

Unless something specifically says otherwise, fractions are always rounded down. See The Basics:

Rounding Fractions

In general, if you wind up with a fraction, round down, even if the fraction is one-half or larger.

Exception: Certain rolls, such as damage and hit points, have a minimum of 1.

So if you have Str 16, a greatsword will add +4 bonus to damage (rounded down from 4½).

Note that this round down, not towards zero. This matters for negative numbers.

For example, negative Strength mods don't get multiplied because the rule says not to, but if they did and you have Str 8, a dagger would add a −1 penalty (rounded down from −½).

share|improve this answer
    
Round down can still be ambigious - negative numbers round down could mean round to the lowest value, or round to zero. –  MichaelT Aug 19 at 1:37
    
@MichaelT That fact is why I gave an example with negative numbers. It is round down, as in lower value, not towards zero, as in lower absolute zero. –  KRyan Aug 19 at 1:41
    
As stated in the question strength penalties are basically unaffected only bonuses are multiplied or halved –  Codytr777 Aug 19 at 7:26
    
@Codytr777 right you are. There may be other situations where negatives are halved, so I'm just going to clarify that this is how it would work if not for that rule. –  KRyan Aug 19 at 11:46

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.