Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Instead of a “Spell Slots for Spell Level” table, the warlock just has two columns: one for number of slots and one for slot level, because all of their slots are the same level.

However, the table on PHB p. 106 only goes up to the 5th slot level. It looks like the higher levels are misprinted as they should go up to 9th level slots (as the warlock's spell list has spells of 6th, 7th, 8th, and 9th levels). What is the correct progression? Is a warlock’s slot level the same as the maximum slot level of a wizard of the same class level?

share|improve this question
That's super-weird for a misprint, but considering that the warlock spell list goes to 9th, it must be a misprint. – SevenSidedDie Aug 19 '14 at 5:39
At first I just assumed that warlock spells only go to 5 like paladins and rangers, but then I saw the spell list. Somebody must have gotten the two progressions mixed up. – Bradd Szonye Aug 19 '14 at 5:41
I edited that in to make the WTF situation plain in the question, otherwise people might assume without checking that it's just a RTFM problem. – SevenSidedDie Aug 19 '14 at 5:43
Turns out it was an RTFM problem after all, but I don't regret asking. Weird mechanic! – Bradd Szonye Aug 19 '14 at 5:51
Weird, and buried away from the two pages where you'd expect to find that info. I know AD&D suffered from too many footnotes, but this table could have had one on the slot progression to say "See Mystic Arcanum for 6th+ spells." – SevenSidedDie Aug 19 '14 at 5:57
up vote 59 down vote accepted

The book is correct. For the reason why level 6-9 spells exist for the Warlock when their Pact Magic slots cap at 5, check the Mystic Arcanum class feature on PHB p.108.

Mystic Arcanum

At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum.

You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a long rest before you can do so again.

At higher levels, you gain more warlock spells of your choice that can be cast in this way: one 7th-level spell at 13th level, one 8th-level spell at 15th level, and one 9th-level spell at 17th level. You regain all uses of your Mystic Arcanum when you finish a long rest.

It's simulating the once-a-day spell slots that other casters get (presumably, they didn't want you recasting a 9th level spell every time you rested throughout the day), but there are a few minor differences.

  1. It's not technically a spell slot for anything that cares specifically about spell slots (such as the feature below that in the PHB, Eldritch Master), as mentioned.
  2. Unlike most spellcasters, you only ever "know" (as an arcanum) one spell each of 6th-9th level.
  3. You cannot 'upgrade' spells to those 6th-9th level 'slots', as they aren't really slots. You always cast the 6th level arcanum at 6th level, the 7th level arcanum as 7th level, etc.
share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.