Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

When a power says "Each creature in the blast", does that mean my allies are hit by the attack too? I play a Control Wizard/Witch and almost all of my powers are blast and burst that target creatures.

share|improve this question
Sure - real military ordinance does this too. It's called "friendly fire" – Dale M Aug 25 '14 at 1:53
@DaleM: Friendly fire... isn't. ;-) – DevSolar Aug 25 '14 at 12:02

Yep, allies are hit too, otherwise it would say "each Enemy in the blast", as is the case on plenty of attacks (For example, Fire Shroud, contrast with Shock sphere).

share|improve this answer

Yes, it means enemies and allies


A being in the game world. Both adventurers and monsters are creatures. See also adventurer and monster. - Published in Rules Compendium, page(s) 310.

There are options for avoiding friendly fire while still laying down a burst/blast zone that includes friendlies

War Wizard's Staff feat lets you slide an ally out of the way before the attack goes off (if you are wielding an arcane implement). War Wizard Expertise applies a -5 to-hit modifier for burst and blast powers cast through a light or heavy blade against allies.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.