Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Assume you are a Druid 3 / Ranger 5.

Can you attack twice with the Flame Blade when you use Extra Attack?

share|improve this question
up vote 19 down vote accepted

No

You can use your action to make a melee spell attack with the fiery blade. On a hit, the target takes 3d6 fire damage. - PHB p. 242

The rub is that it describes it as a melee spell attack, vs. a melee attack. As such its in the same category as Inflict Wounds and other touch spells as a distinct action vs. a regular Attack action.

Extra Attack only triggers when you make the Attack action

Even if you interpret melee spell attacks as being one and the same as melee attacks, the simple fact remains that Extra Attack only triggers when the Attack action is taken.

share|improve this answer
2  
@András There are no subsets of actions. The spell creates a new use for your action, it doesn't use the Attack Action. – SevenSidedDie Aug 24 '14 at 23:24
1  
This answer was bothering me, in that if you use the weapon as an attack action, it would be used twice as an improvised weapon. And then I realized that perhaps the concentration aspect of the spell precludes doing multiple attacks with it. – GMNoob Aug 26 '14 at 5:15
    
I disagree with your interpretation. What "melee spell attack" stipulates is that you use your spellcasting ability instead of your strength to resolve the attack. A melee spell attack is still an attack action (nothing in the rules states that it is not) and thus, I would interpret that as it being compatible with a extra attack. – Max Sep 22 '14 at 6:03
4  
@max attack action is not a general class, encompassing anything and everything that is an attack, "Attack action" (its capitalized as such in the text) is an action you can take on your turn that gives you a melee attack. If you think your answer is correct, submit it, don't comment on mine. – Joshua Aslan Smith Sep 22 '14 at 12:00

You can use your action to make a melee spell attack with the fiery blade.

This creates a new type of action in addition to the 9 or so enumerated in the PHB, if you use it you are not using the Attack action upon which all multiple attack features rely.

share|improve this answer

You cast a spell when you summon the blade in to existence.

Melee "spell" attack is in reference to what mod you can use.

If you chose to use your Wisdom mod treat it as a spell attack.

Then the answer would be no, you do not.

If you use your dexterity or strength mod like you would a normal sword swing

Then you are going thru a physical attack motion and that should trigger any

thing swinging a normal "flaming scimitar" would.

Then the answer would be yes, you get your second attack.

Note, there is nothing in the spell description baring you from making normal attacks with your brand new flaming scimitar.

share|improve this answer
1  
The idea that you can use the Flame Blade as a normal weapon is interesting and while not explicitly supported by the spell certainly isn't ruled out either. Refocusing this answer on that portion (How the spell creates a fiery blade, and how well it does provide a new action that doesn't rule out using your normal actions to use the blade) could make this a very interesting answer. You also may want to address what sort of damage using Fiery Blade in this way may do, since the 3d6 is only listed for the special action. Perhaps basing damage off the description making it similar to a scimitar? – Ceribia Jun 23 at 10:32

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.