Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The KnockDDI ritual does not specify anything for range.

Can you use the ritual to unlock a door that you cannot touch?

Can you use the ritual to unlock a door that you cannot see?

Can you use the ritual to unlock a door that is visible at the end of a hallway without approaching it?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 5 down vote accepted

When ever I encounter a spell or power that doesn't have a range specified I always rule it as a touch or adjacent square which ever makes more sense. Knock implies touch so, that is what I rule. As long as the character can touch they can use the power, they don't have to see it.

share|improve this answer
add comment

The Knock ritual gives special details on using it to "undo bolts and bars you couldn't normally reach" with a DC 20 Arcana check. That suggests that the ability to "normally reach" the affected locks is part of the spell's typical use.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.