Sign up ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I know that the Multiclassing Proficiencies are listed on p. 164 of the Player's Handbook:

When you gain a level in a class other than your first, you gain only some of that class's starting proficiencies, as shown in the Multiclassing Proficiencies table.

Multiclassing Proficiencies
[...] Cleric — Light armor, medium armor, shields [...]

Cleric proficiencies are listed as:

Armor: Light armor, medium armor, shields
Weapons: All simple weapons

So it's clear that simple weapons are not available to one multiclassing into Cleric.

However, Cleric's Tempest and War Domains both have the following Bonus Proficiency on p. 62 and p. 63 of the Player's Handbook, respectively:

Bonus Proficiency
At 1st level, you gain proficiency with martial weapons and heavy armor.

And of course, specific rules beat general rules, as noted on p. 7 of the Player's Handbook, but it's not clear to me which of the two is more specific.

Do I get these Domain Bonus Proficiencies when I multiclass into Cleric and use the War or Tempest domain?

share|improve this question
Hi Josh, I've added a question to your question. (As a general rule, your question should almost never solely exist in the title.) Please make sure it's accurate. – doppelgreener Aug 26 '14 at 5:13
Ah, thanks, that makes a lot of sense. Yes, that clarification is perfectly accurate. – Josh Clark Aug 26 '14 at 5:14

2 Answers 2

up vote 10 down vote accepted

The bonus proficiency is a domain feature. Domains are a class feature. The multiclassing rules state that you gain the class features when you get a new level in the new class. It then lists exceptions to this with channel divinity, extra attack, spell casting and unarmored defense. Domains are not listed, so it seems that the bonus proficiency is the more specific rule and you gain the domain proficienices.

share|improve this answer


When you take levels of a new class, you get all of the benefits of their class features.

When you gain a new level in a class, you get its features for that level. A few features, however, have additional rules when you're multiclassing...

While channel divinity is one of the things that is listed as having a special rule surrounding it, Cleric domain features is not (the other ones are extra attacks, unarmored defenses and spell casting).

So yes, when you take a new level of Cleric, you get their L1 domain proficiency, when you take the second level, you get their Channel Divinity features etc. Specifically, because these items are not part of the main class proficiency, but classified with your domain features.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.