Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In D&D 4e, a creature can perform a move action instead of a standard action, allowing them to perform two move actions in a turn.

Stinking Cloud allows you to create a zone and furthermore says:

...As a move action, you can move the zone up to 6 squares.

Can you move the stinking cloud twice in the same round?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted


If it says Move Action and they spend a move action, I'd let the character do it.

Just as an aside, as a D.M. I'd be thinking stationary target and Opportunity Attacks.

share|improve this answer

The actual rule is (page 269, PHB):

You can take a move action or a minor action instead of a standard action, and you can take a minor action instead of a move action.

There's no requirement for the two move actions to be the same (or different, for that matter).

So you can take any two move actions in a round, which can include moving a stinking cloud twice (or moving yourself and then moving the cloud, or retrieving something from a bag and then moving, etc.).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.