Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Cape of the Mountebank Level 5+ Uncommon

Power (Teleportation) Daily (Immediate Reaction)

Use this power when you are hit by an attack. Teleport 5 squares and gain combat advantage against the attacker until the end of your next turn.

Do you think "reaction" is intended, so you take damage from hit, and then teleport, or is it "a case of mistaken interrupt", like with Parrying Weapon's ability? (here - What is the timing of Parrying Weapon's ability? )

So, how should I rule, damage or no damage?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Yes, it's probably intended. The power works fine - it's like the pixie's teleport trick. It's a reaction, and you take the entire attack before absconding to safety. Even if you can't evade the attack, it's still very useful in the hands of a ranged character: a free escape to safety from someone who closed in on you, and a temporary bonus to attacking them.

It's reasonable to suspect there's a mistake when a power is totally broken, but when it works fine and just surprises you with an uncommon effect, just take it as an unusual (but deliberate) feature.

share|improve this answer
There are also tons of multi-attacking monsters in 4e. This is a great power when dealing with those. – wax eagle Sep 3 '14 at 10:07
Thanks, though so! – Oleg Ryzhikov Sep 3 '14 at 10:10

The wording is there, even ignoring what sort of action there is.

When you are hit by the attack

So yes, you are hit by the attack.

share|improve this answer
The same language is used by immediate interrupt teleports, though. Consider the Sorcerer's Swift Escape (PHB2 142), which has a trigger of "You are hit by an area or close attack" and lets you teleport away a few squares. The idea is to teleport outside the range of the attack after the attack roll succeeds, leaving it unable to actually hit you so you're unharmed by it. – doppelgreener Sep 3 '14 at 9:03

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.