Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Some spellcasting classes (e.g. Sorcerer or Eldritch Knight) have the ability to 'forget' one of their known spells and swap it for another when they level. If they knew Find Familiar, and used it to obtain a familiar, can they swap out the Find Familiar spell but keep the familiar?

Obviously they would not be able to change its form, or replace it on death, since either of these abilities requires casting the spell again. But can they keep the familiar with all its abilities?

share|improve this question
up vote 16 down vote accepted

Mechanically, I believe so:

Find familiar, on page 240 of the PHB, has duration "Instantaneous".

From page 203:

The spell harms, heals, creates, or alters a creature or an object in a way that can’t be dispelled, because its magic exists only for an instant.

As a result, there is no need for you to keep up concentration, or even still know the spell to maintain the effects of an instantaneous spell, in the same way that if you cast fireball and later relearn it, your enemies don't get unburnt.

Flavorwise, I'd highly suggest you keep it, but mechanically there is nothing stopping the scenario you describe.

share|improve this answer
Both these answers are great, but I'm accepting this one because it includes direct reference to the rules. – Miniman Sep 15 '14 at 3:53


The spell's effect is permanent until such time as the familiar is dismissed or is killed or whatnot. There's absolutely no reason that the familiar would go away if your caster forgets Find Familiar (for instance, if the Wizard decided not to prepare it and prepped something else instead, or the EK/Sorcy forgets it permanently).

As you said, they wouldn't be able to change it's form, but yeah, there's no reason it would go away if you forgot the spell.

share|improve this answer

protected by Brian Ballsun-Stanton Nov 4 '14 at 21:32

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.